Every Girl Needs a Dingy

dingy is a term used for a small boat or vessel, and heck yes I believe every girl needs one.   Her name is Manuahi, my supervisorʻs little boat; Iʻm so blessed to be using her for my research this summer.  Sheʻs light enough to pull on deck, has a small electric motor, and needs nothing more for a girl like me who only dreamt of driving around my own boat:)

ImageThere she is on the right, what a little beauty!

Today was day two at my internship and every morning thus far, when I walk out on the dock and observe the weather, I have to take a step back… When I was seven years old, I remember fishing with my dad off a point at Awāwāmalu, facing the rising sun and feeling the windward sea breeze kiss the peach fuzz on my face, as I closed my eyes and told myself that whatever “growing up” meant, this will always be the best feeling in the whole-wide-world.  I thank God everyday that Iʻm still able to feel that, especially now, at work.

Image

This is “home” for the next two and a half months, and not too shabby of a view either! Yesterday consisted of secondary-growth removal on Crassostrea virginica, to prepare for depuration.  In English, that means we cleaned oysters.  All day.  It was stink, tiring and stink, but I learned a lot about the bacteria that eats the animal and the invasive creatures that not only dwell in the pond but also create larger ecosystem problems.

An average day at work consists of hopping on the boat to check the three mākāhā (gates) and looking for evidence of poachers, observing and recording rainfall, wind and tide data, and jumping into any projects (which will soon be my research experiments) that Aunty Kui, my supervisor, needs done.

My experiments during my stay are still in the air as far as details go, however they will be along these three lines: current analysis, depth mapping, and invasive jellyfish.  Iʻm stoked! Though not an average girlʻs ideal job, I love every second of it.  Oh, and did I mention my commute to and from work is traffic-free and gorgeous? Yeah, thatʻs worth smiling about. 🙂Image

5 thoughts on “Every Girl Needs a Dingy

  1. electric motor! I had a dingy at Lokoʻea pond but I had to paddle it. The hottest, stillest days of summer meant that O2 would be stratified so fish would be gasping for air at the surface so paddling mixed the O2–old school air pump! I guess the propeller on your electric motor does the same thing, but my paddles were bigger than your propeller!

Leave a Reply

