Testimony

Certain people walk into our lives on accident and end up revealing small parts of our own master plans that we would not have seen without their presence.  And though we have no control over who comes and goes, we would hope and pray that they stay long enough to embrace the fact that God had brought us to them and them to us, on purpose.  He is the reason for every season, every unique soul, life holds.  

When my summer began, I did not want to stay home for work.  Given the opportunity, and requesting so before hand, I would have wanted to go to Hilo and from there go to school.  I never had an urge to leave home and be independent, but I always had a goal to excel elsewhere, be it academically or any other aspect.  Thus, staying home sucked…in the beginning. 

At the time, I was living with my aunty because she lived closer to my job site and as the days went by I realized that each week, the only thing I would look forward to was going home.  Seeing my dogs.  Cracking jokes with mom.  Doing yard work with dad.  Cutting my brotherʻs hair.  Running to my grandparentʻs house.  And eating momʻs amazing vegetarian cooking.  

In the back of my mind, work and getting ready to move, had consumed every parking stall. It was stressful to say the least.  And on top of that, I was spending a lot of time with friends and family who wanted to make my final days home, memorable.  Long story short, and I apologize this might not be much of a testimony, I realized my void as well as my solutions.  I had a void that I think most girls have, and that is to be loved; to be loved, not just by friends but by a significant other, and to have that love last forever.  Well, Iʻm beginning to think that might not be possible, and thatʻs a good thing.  Because the only love that is forever, eternal, worthwhile, unconditional, is that of my Lord Jesus Christ.  And if true love were achievable on this earth, we would not want nor need Him.  Maybe then, if I were to find someone who believed in that same God-filled love, maybe…things would work out.

As for the solutions to my void, I took everyday at work, everyday at home, everyday with friends, family, cousins, as a little blessing.  When I saw my cousins smile, I got warm inside my gut.  When I saw my grandparents make trouble to each other, I was filled with love in my heart.  When I spent time and had meaningful conversations with friends, I felt butterflies in my toes.  And thatʻs what romantic love is, right? Warmness in your gut, love in your heart, and butterflies in your toes?

God has blessed me with things that I had hoped for and some things that I had never asked for.  If I could put those things and my gratefulness into words, they would not be blessings.  And as this last day at home brings the sun from the horizon, over my head and back down, I am thankful in a thousand ways for those certain people who had certain reasons, accidental or intentional, for walking into my life in Godʻs certain timing.  Thank you, thank you, thank you x100000000.

“With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

-Matthew 19:26

Image

4 thoughts on “Testimony

  1. Aloha Oe, Amber

    Rejoice evermore 1Th5:16. There are more surprises and blessings coming because God loves you even more than you can love Him! Praise God!

    Love, Grandpa Au

  2. We are going to miss seeing you around, Amber! But we know you are in the best hands and will be watched 24/7! Proverbs 3:5-6 \o/ , now and forever!
    Elika

  3. Grampa says it best. My love for you is very fractional compared to Godʻs (yes, Jesus Christ, the Only One, The Eternal One–There is none like him) love for you. We have just a few words for “love”, but Father God whoʻs Son is coming again, has an infinite vocabulary that spans limitless languages and dialects…all for the word “love”.

  4. Aloha Amber,
    It is a great blessing to realize these truths about the Lord Jesus Christ early in life. As I look back on my 66 years, I can see how the Lord has guided, protected, and provided for each day. As He promised (Heb 13:5), He has never left me nor forsaken me. Thank you for sharing your precious testimony. To God be the glory, great things He has done! Judy

Leave a Reply

